About Us


The Association of Towns awarded the Europe Prize

The award has been granted since 1955. Our cooperation is very important, especially in such difficult times, it contributes to strengthening European solidarity and promoting international understanding.
Each of our cities, through such activities, proved that they deserve the European Prize.
The aim of our association is to develop friendly ties between its members, youth exchange, exchange of information and good practices.
We raise topics that relate to the most pressing or interesting problems of local governments at a given moment.
We are trying to involve young people in these activities, to teach them responsibility for the future of Europe and European citizenship.

Objectives from the statute
The aim of the Association is to achieve greater unity among its members by exchanging information and discussing issues of common interest, especially in areas such as:

  • twin relationships;
  • exchange between public and private institutions as well as entities with mixed ownership, especially
    in the field of culture;
  • European events;
  • promotion of the idea of ​​solidarity in Europe and mutual understanding between nations;
  • research and participation in the exchange of knowledge and experience within the cultural framework and social development of the members of the Association;
  • indication of initiatives involving local governments in active cooperation.


The Association of Towns Awarded the Europe Prize was founded in Udine, Italy, on March 25th, 1984. It is a voluntary network of all towns that were awarded the Europe Prize.

Its objective is to develop closer links between its members. It promotes exchange of information and encourages discussions among the towns awarded the Europe Prize. At least once a year the members of the Association meet in one of the towns awarded the Europe Prize. These meetings provide opportunities to exchange best practices and to develop networks. New contacts are established, and existing relationships are strengthened. The focus is on the promotion of European solidarity and international understanding.

This prize is bestowed upon towns and municipalities which have rendered outstanding services to contribute to development of understanding among nations and people to preserve peace in Europe. Each year the Committee of Ministers of the European Council awards the prize to one or two towns or municipalities.

Presidium of the Association

Lublin, Poland
Częstochowa, Poland
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Altötting, Germany
Khmelnytskyi, Ukraine
Ivano-Frankivsk, Ukraine
Mülheim-an-der Ruhr, Germany
Würzburg, Germany
Darmstadt, Germany
Nancy, France
Representative of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

President of the Association

  • since 2023 Krzysztof Żuk, Mayor of Lublin (Poland)
  • 2019 – 2023 Krzysztof Matyjaszczyk, Mayor of Czestochowa (Poland)
  • 2015 – 2019 Gennadiy Kernes, Mayor of Kharkiv (Ukraine)
  • 2011 – 2015 Melih Gökcek, Mayor of Ankara (Turkey)
  • 2007 – 2011 Walter Hoffmann, Lord Mayor of Darmstadt (Germany)
  • 2004 – 2007 Brigitte Russ-Scherer, Lord Mayor of Tübingen (Germany)
  • 2003 – 2004 Tadeusz Wrona, Mayor of Czestochowa (Poland)
  • 2000 – 2003 Wieslaw Maras, Mayor of Czestochowa (Poland)
  • 1996 – 2000 Dieter Schmidt, Mayor of Braunfels (Germany)
  • 1991 – 1996 Kaj Kjaer, Mayor of Aalborg (Denmark)
  • 1989 – 1991 Guy Ravier, Mayor of Avignon (France)
  • 1987 – 1989 Günther Metzger, Lord Mayor of Darmstadt (Germany)
  • 1985 – 1987 Alfred Stingl, Mayor of Graz (Austria)
  • 1984 – 1985 Angelo Candolini, Mayor of Udine (Italy)

Krzysztof Żuk
Mayor of Lublin